Sowers Math Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Math Myths

Math Myths:    

“There is a ‘math mind’ – some people have it, some people don’t.”

“Math requires only a very logical mind.”

 

The myth that reminds me of my days as a math student was “There is a ‘math mind’ – some people have it, some people don’t.”  This one really hit home because at one time I thought I had a math mind.  A few years later, I was pretty much convinced that I didn’t have a math mind at all.  If I had a math mind to begin with, I wouldn’t have just lost it (along with the litany of other items at the bottom of my locker).  Now, I’m back to having a math mind.  Obviously, there is no such thing as a math mind, just the math experiences that we’ve had along the way that make us believe that we are either good at math or bad at math.  I’m lucky; I got a second chance at math.  As they say on TV, “Myth Busted.”

 

I never believed “Math requires only a very logical mind.”  I have a very logical mind, and I was a mathematical failure.  Some classmates of mine didn’t have an ounce of common sense among them, but were tremendous math students.  As a teacher, I’ve found this to be true as well.  Some people are just mathematically intuitive, not logical in any manner, but intuitive and creative.  These are the most important qualities for those who discover math, not just do math.

 

To help dispel these myths for my students, I constantly try to engage them in different thinking activities through problem solving.  Students need to try to solve problems rather than just do exercises.  There is a world of difference between the two.  It’s surprising to see the difference between thinkers and doers.  The students who run through homework assignments usually struggle with the problem solving activities and vice-versa.  By varying the strategies and activities, every student has a chance to excel in some area of math.  I am a true believer that success breeds success, so we need to optimize our efforts at assuring some kind of success at some level for every student.

October 16, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Shawn,
    I teach a problem solving course and find it interesting when I have the students share their solutions to a problem and the strategy that they choose to use. I do not let them know which answer is correct until we have all the solutions on the board. If a student perceives that they are not math minded, then they will automatically dismiss their correct solution if it is different from a classmate that they feel is math minded. After the students discover that they are correct, they start to gain confidence. I also like to show that there are different ways to look at a problem and that it is okay to solve problems differently.
    Bryan

    Comment by Bryan | October 17, 2008

  2. Shawn,
    I, too, always thought I had a math mind, until I got to college and my math courses made me want to find a new major! Now that I teach math every day, I am wishing I could go back and take those college courses again, without telling myself that I didn’t have a math mind. I now know that I could do better in those classes, if I were to get over any preconceived notions that “I couldn’t think like that”.

    Comment by mrswolfordmath7 | October 17, 2008

  3. Sorry for not leaving my name on the last comment!
    ~Jackie

    Comment by mrswolfordmath7 | October 17, 2008

  4. Shawn,
    Using a variety of problem solving strategies and having students share those ideas is a great idea. When students talk about the problems and the strategies to find the solutions, they progress much quicker.
    Judy

    Comment by Judy | October 18, 2008


Leave a comment